Dutch Oven Camp Cooking

We love cooking with Dutch Ovens when we go camping.  Over the years we have amassed a small arsenal of Dutch Ovens and cast iron cookware.  My entire family goes on a 3 or 4 day camping trip each summer and it quickly became a contest to see what family could find the best recipe to try on the annual camping trip in the Dutch Ovens.  Everyone is on constant alert all year for a new recipe… and we never divulge the latest secret recipe until it is our turn to cook the meal at the campsite.  Even the kids really get into it all!  I also have a lightweight 12-inch aluminum Dutch Oven that always goes with me on my canoe portage trips.

About swgraham2

Mountain Mists is an opportunity to develop some thought processes individually as I journey through this wonderful world; as someone who values highly effective management techniques and the art of leading teams; and through my association with West Virginia University as a professional technologist and network manager specializing in digital signage.
This entry was posted in Epicurean Passions, Wild Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dutch Oven Camp Cooking

  1. swgraham2 says:

    Hi Leslie! Thanks for the note! I am very new to blogging (just went public today) and you are my first response. I fell in love with Dutch Oven cooking almost 40 years ago as a Boy Scout and then about 10 years ago added my first D.O. to the family camping gig in the summers. I think we enjoy D.O. cooking almost as much as just going camping! Several of us here in Morgantown have talked about getting a DOG going just for fun.

    Spence

    Like

  2. Leslie says:

    We are members of the Lone Star Dutch Oven Society and have enjoyed cooking with the local chapter once a month (not in the summer!) for the past several years. I am always amazed at what delicious meals are prepared and am inspired by my DO friends. Love your photos of your Dutch Oven feast!

    Like

Leave a Reply

